ExxonMobil War Boycott

Traprock Homepage

March 21, 2006


Nick Mottern nickmottern@earthlink.net,


pdf version of press release

The ExxonMobil War Boycott campaign announces endorsements by Cindy Sheehan, Howard Zinn, and a host of internationally known activists and writers, with support from national and regional peace and justice organizations. (The full list of endorsers is given below.)

Consumers for Peace launched the boycott campaign on December 29, 2005, seeking an immediate withdrawal of U.S. troops and mercenaries from Iraq and the impeachment of George W. Bush and prosecution of U.S. officials responsible for war crimes and crimes against humanity.

The campaign urges consumers to boycott of ExxonMobil products and to purchase of CITGO products as an alternative.

ExxonMobil has been selected for boycott because of its apparent active involvement in U.S. policy in the Middle East in general and Iraq in particular, and its power to help change these policies.

The campaign urges the boycott of products and services of nine consumer products firms connected with ExxonMobil through its board of directors. They are: Campbell’s Soup; Carlson Companies (Radisson Hotels, TGI Friday’s); Corning Inc. (Steuben Glass); Metlife; Novartis; Pfizer; Verizon; Wells Fargo and Wyeth.

ConsumersforPeace.org describes connections between ExxonMobil and U.S. Middle East and Iraq policies and seeks to mobilize consumer pressure that will persuade the oil firm to start to lobby on behalf of the boycott’s goals. ExxonMobil says it spent $7.7 million on lobbying in 2004.

ConsumersforPeace.org is an organizer of the March to Redeem the Soul of America, to be held in Texas April 1 -16. The march will begin with a press conference at 10 a.m., April 1, at ExxonMobil headquarters in Texas and other a two-week period will go from there to Dallas, then south to Waco and west to Crawford and the Texas White House. It will conclude on Easter Weekend at the celebration of the 3rd Anniversary of the Crawford Peace House, in Crawford.

These organizations and individuals endorse the ExxonMobil War Boycott called by Consumers for Peace.

Organizational Endorsers:

After Downing Street

Association of Humanitarian Lawyers

Bloomington Peace Action Coalition

Campus Antiwar Network

Coalition Against War and Injustice (Baton Rouge)

Covington (Louisiana) Peace Project

Consumers for Peace


Goldstar Families for Peace

International Socialist Organization

Midsouth Peace and Justice Center


Office of the Americas

Progressive Democrats of America


Traprock Peace Center

Wespac Foundation

Individual Endorsers*:

Adam Roufberg, Natural Philosophers International

Annie and Buddy Spell, Louisiana peace activists (Annie is president
of the Greater Covington, LA branch of the NAACP)

Anthony Arnove, author, “Iraq: The Logic of Withdrawal”; co-editor
with Howard Zinn, “Voices of a People’s History of the US”

Camilo Mejía, Staff Sgt., Florida National Guard, was the first soldier to go public with his refusal to redeploy. He spent seven months in military confinement for his decision. He is a member of Iraq Veterans Against the War – http://www.ivaw.net

Charles Jenks, J.D., Chair of Advisory Board – Traprock Peace Center

Cindy Sheehan, Co-founder – Gold Star Families for Peace

Dahr Jamail, independent journalist who spent over 8 months
reporting from occupied Iraq

David Swanson, co-founder of AfterDowningStreet.org

Dennis Kyne, Gulf War veteran, activist and author of “Support the

Dirk Adriaensens, coordinator SOS Iraq and member of the Executive Committee of the Brussells Tribunal, Belgium

Don DeBar, correspondent, WBAI, New York

Elizabeth Wrigley-Field, National Coordinating Committee – Campus
Antiwar Network

Eric Ruder, reporter – Socialist Worker newspaper

Gabriele Zamparini, freelance journalist and film maker living in
London; co-editor of www.thecatsdream.com

Howard Zinn, Ph.D., historian, playwright and activist; author of “A People’s History of the United States” and co-editor with Anthony Arnove of “Voices of a People’s History of the US” Jacob Flowers, Director – MidSouth Peace and Justice Center

Judy Linehan, Military Families Speak Out

Kären Ahern Digging Deeper Media Collective, member VFP of Western Washington

Karen Parker, J.D., Pres. Association of Humanitarian Lawyers, UN non-governmental organization delegate.

Kathy Kelly, Nobel Peace Prize nominee, co-founder – Voices For
Creative Non-Violence

Lindsey German, Convener – Stop the War Coalition (UK)

Michael Letwin, Co-Convener – New York City Labor Against the War

Nick Mottern, National Director – Consumers for Peace

Nada Khader, Executive Director, Wespac Foundation

Norman Solomon, Author of “War Made Easy: How Presidents and
Pundits Keep Spinning Us to Death”

Paola Pisi, professor of religious sciences (Italy) and editor of

Phil Gasper, Ph.D., Chair – Department of Philosophy & Religion, Notre Dame de Namur University, Professors for Peace

Sanford Russell, moderator of Boycott US (yahoo group)

Sharon Smith, author of “Women and Socialism : Essays on Women’s Liberation”

Stan Goff, Master Sergeant Retired, US Army

Sunny Miller, Executive Director – Traprock Peace Center

Thomas F. Barton, publisher, GI Special

Tim Baer, Director – Bloomington Peace Action Coalition

Tim Carpenter, National Director – Progressive Democrats of America

Ward Reilly, SE National Contact – Vietnam Veterans Against the War, Veterans for Peace, Baton Rouge

*Affiliations are for identification purposes only.